South Tenerife or North Tenerife?

Tenerife is divided into 31 municipalities, incorporated in three large regions, South Tenerife, North Tenerife and the Metropolitan area.

South Tenerife includes 12 of these municipalities which are around the south west coast of the island, North Tenerife encompasses 15 municipalities around the north coast, and the Metropolitan Area has 4 municipalities, where the two most important cities of the island are found, San Cristóbal de La Laguna and Santa Cruz de Tenerife.

South Tenerife

Playa del DuqueThis is the most touristic area of Tenerife and finds such popular attractions as Siam Park and Jungle Park, along with the most visited towns on the island such as Las Américas, Los Cristianos or Costa Adeje.

The south coast of Tenerife is a continual succession of spectacular beaches. It is here the island’s most popular beaches are found, including El Duque, Las Vistas, El Camisón or Torviscas and Fañabé.  In addition, nature has given this territory natural monuments such as the cliffs of Los Gigantes and beauty spots such as El Barranco del Infierno.

South Tenerife enjoys a vibrant day and night life with many excellent restaurants, terraces by the beach and premier nightclubs.

more about South Tenerife

North Tenerife

Torre de Santa Ana, GarachicoThe north of Tenerife is the greenest region, with milder temperatures, less tourism and a traditional charm all of its own. An area where tranquillity reigns, away from the hustle and bustle of the South. A locale of small villages and hamlets steeped in history and culture, as historical areas of the Villa de La Orotava, Icod de los Vinos or Garachico show.

The volcanic nature of the archipelago has given this section of the island a steep coast, scattered with extraordinary natural pools and small beaches of volcanic sand like el Charco de la Laja or El Bollullo. It is a place of natural open spaces like the Masca mountains, el Parque Rural de Teno or an important part of the forest crown of Mount Teide.

But beyond its natural charm and dignified atmosphere of its towns and cities, there’s a lot to do in North Tenerife, like a visit to Loro Parque, a walk in the Jardines Victoria, lose yourself in the exotic vegetation of El Botánico or take a dip in the Lago Martiánez.

more about North Tenerife

Metropolitan Area

Plaza de EspañaThe two main cities of the island are found in the Metropolitan Area of Tenerife, two cities steeped in history and culture where there is no shortage of museums, parks, monuments, cathedrals and theatres that echo each other with their old towns and shape two of the best conserved, major historical centres in the Canary Islands.

But within the metropolitan area there is also space for nature and here we find one of the lungs of the island, the Anaga Natural Reserve and one of the most popular beaches in Tenerife, Las Teresitas.

more about the Metropolitan Area